Breaking Radio Silence

This morning I decided to take a little break and listen to my college roommate Doug’s radio show.  He’s in Boston and I’m in Texas, but thanks to the miracles of modern technology I can listen to his show wherever I can find an internet connection.  It’s called Morning Soup and it’s on BostonFreeRadio. Doug got me involved in my college’s radio station, WRMC.  It was definitely one of the neatest things I’ve ever done.  I initially managed to get a show because of my knowledge of classical music, but later expanded into Blues, Punk, Ska, Reggae and Rock ‘n Roll.  Along the way, we covered elections, a nationally recognized Folk & Bluegrass Festival and much, much more.  Despite all the advances in technology, radio will always have a special place in my heart and I find myself often wondering if I should get back into it like my friend Doug. The only problem is bandwidth, no, not the internet kind.  I barely have enough time to get out on my bike as it is and a show like he’s doing requires a fair amount of preparation and I just don’t have the time.  So, I’ll just live vicariously through him for the moment.

It’s been a while since I posted anything here or anywhere else for that matter. I left the company where I’d been working for the last 10 years to pursue an idea.  Along the way, another opportunity found me and just like that the concept of free time vanished from my life.  It’s been a few years since I’ve been this excited about what I’m doing and when that happens it’s like a black hole that absorbs all of my attention.  I’m hoping to emerge on the other side with my family and friends still with me.  It’s not the first time this has happened to me, but I know I’m realistically only going to be able to do this 1 or 2 more times in my career so hopefully I get it right this time.

So what am I up to?  Well, it’s not something I can share at the moment, but it’ll be evident some time later this  year.  In the mean time, let’s just say I’m having a lot of fun working with mobile device technology and the cloud.  We’re at the very early stages of an entirely new wave of technology that’s going to make the internet wave from the last decade seem like a Model T Ford.  Think about it.  When I was a DJ, I was spinning records.  Cassettes were just hitting the mainstream…when was the last time you saw a cassette player?  Since then, we’ve seen CDs replace records.  CDs have been replaced by MP3 players and music you download.  Now I’ve got internet radio on my phone.  I’m connected to a variety of different social networks where I know where my friends and contacts are up to no matter where they are.  In the next month, you’re going to see a new set of tablets hit the market that will make the laptop I’m using to write this post the next dinosaur headed for extinction.  It’s an exciting time to exercise your imagination.  Despite all the negative news about the economy and jobs situation, there’s lots of positive things going on…too bad the media always seems to focus on the dirty laundry.

So, go ahead and exercise your imagination and do something about it.  Don’t forget to leave a little time to ride your bike.  And, if you’re wanting to relax with your cup of coffee on a Saturday morning, give my friend Doug’s show a try.  He’s always got an eclectic mix of music you’ve probably never heard of, but you’ll like what you hear.  I’m always finding a new artist in the music he shares and I’m sure you will too.

Leave a comment