Do you have a favorite cycling jersey?

I’ve been wanting to write this post ever since participating in the Livestrong Challenge in early October.  Consider it part 2 of what to wear.  Cycling attire is known for its bright colors and tight fit.  I generally like jerseys that are easily visible in all sorts of light conditions.  I’m always on the lookout for unique jerseys that really stand out.  This is what I was doing while scanning for my friend Darryl at the start of the Livestrong Challenge.

I ran across a woman wearing this jersey.  I recognized it immediately because it’s one of my all time favorites and, sadly, it was destroyed when I crashed.  My wife gave it to me years ago because she thought it would be funny to give me a jersey called Illegal Alien where the alien was asking you for a green card.  I’m an immigrant myself (born in Germany) and had a green card myself at the time.  Primal has put out some pretty good jersey designs over the years and this was one of their better ones.

Here Comes the SunI replaced it with another Primal jersey.  Like the previous one, it’s reasonably bright and easily recognizable.     I have to say, I was a bit disappointed by Primal’s selection this time around.  In the past they’ve had some classics, but the recent ones  all seem a little forgettable.  I wish they would bring some of their older designs back.

I also have a University of Texas Longhorns cycling jersey that I sometimes wear. For the Livestrong Challenge, I wore my Livestrong kit.   Do you have a favorite jersey?  What do you like about it?

One response to “Do you have a favorite cycling jersey?

  1. My favorite is my “50 Plus” jersey, in honor of my age. I got it on Bike Forums, where one of the forums is for us older riders. It’s bright red, with a highway-style shield bearing a large “50” in the middle. But I’m thinking that any new jerseys I get will be plain color block patterns, two or three solid colors. I do not like race kit.

Leave a Reply

