One of my favorite routes

Last time I wrote about routes that are surprisingly rural in an urban area.    These are often special treats for me because it allows me to escape from the Austin traffic.  As I’ve mentioned before, I always enjoy getting out on my bike because it gives me time to think and clear my head.  Sometimes I don’t even notice where I’m riding because I’m lost in my thoughts.  But not today.

I left my house and headed through a couple of neighborhoods.  These neighborhoods all used to be part of rather large ranch that ran down to Lake Travis.  Now the cattle and pastures have been replaced by homes, a country club and the high school my kids attend.  I don’t really have to go all that far to get away from all of this.

The majority of today’s route takes me down FM 2769 and Lime Creek Road. It’s a little over 19 miles in total.  These roads are narrow two lane with a few hills and lots of twists and turns as they run along the shores of Lake Travis.  In spite of Austin’s tremendous growth over the 25 years I’ve lived here, this are has changed very little.  There are a few more homes along this route, but it’s still not very populated.  In a lot of ways, it’s like Spicewood Springs Road between Loop 360 and Research Boulevard.  There’s less traffic along this route as well since the City of Cedar Park completed their portion of the Anderson Mill Road extension.  All of this makes it an ideal bike route.

There’s one rather steep and long hill along this route that is guaranteed to take your breath away.  This hill is always a challenge for me because it’s so steep that if I sit in my saddle, my front wheel lifts off the ground, so I pretty much have to stand up all the way up the hill  It’s about a 1/2 mile and an elevation gain of 300 feet or so. This is also part of the route used by the US Postal Service Racing team during their winter training sessions.  In fact, one year after Lance Armstrong had won his first Tour de France victory someone actually spray painted the names of each member of the team on this hill.

3 responses to “One of my favorite routes

  1. Art Gonzalez(atxcontador)

    The three bitches!

  2. I’ll have to try that one sometime. Thanks for sharing it, Torsten.

    Darryl

Leave a Reply

