Escape routes

In my last post I referenced a special route that hasn’t really changed much in the last 25 years.  I can really appreciate these opportunities to escape my surroundings.  Many of these places are easily accessible and fairly close to home.  I love the fact that I can pedal out of my driveway and within minutes be on a rural road without a lot of traffic.  It seems that everyone’s in a hurry these days, which I suppose is good news because that means they won’t be on a winding road where the fastest you can possibly drive is about 35 Mph.  Many of these roads are of the narrow, two lane variety without a shoulder.

I’m often asked if I think it’s dangerous on these roads and usually reply with “no”.  The roads that make me more nervous are those where the speed differential between me and the rest of the traffic is much higher, even if they have nice wide shoulders.  It takes just a second for a distracted driver to forget where they are and drift into my space.  My odds of survival are much higher when the speeds are lower.

Regardless, there’s lots of routes in urban areas all over the country that make you forget you’re in the city. I’m going to share with you a couple of my favorites. Click on the link and see if you agree. The link will take you to the MapMyRide site.  It’s got a pretty cool feature that allows you to do a course flyover.

What are your favorite escape routes?

2 responses to “Escape routes

  1. The Dam Loop (in either direction) qualifies as my LEAST favorite area ride, and I avoid it. I don’t like riding on shoulders of roads with high-speed traffic. If you bike to a favorite destination, it’s pretty hard to avoid those kinds of roads, though. Give me quiet country roads any day.

Leave a Reply

