The maiden voyage

I spend a fair amount of time on my bike.  I try to ride about 125-150 miles or more a week, which translates to about 10-12 hours of riding related time away from my family.  My kids are still in high school, but both are driving and it seems like we see less and less of them.  I’ve been trying to encourage my wife to join me on my rides.  I think she’s been a little intimidated because I like to go fast over long distances.  I had almost given up when a riding buddy’s wife started riding with him and loved it.  She got her bike  a couple of months back and has already logged over 1,000 miles on it.

We often go to dinner and the local high school football games with my riding buddy and his wife, so I enlisted them to help me convince my wife.   Then, after the Austin Cycle Camp Free Ride to San Antonio, we were sitting at a table with the guys from Bike World San Antonio and my wife mentioned to them she was looking at starting to ride with me.  They answered her questions about bike fit and we had a lot of fun with them and my riding buddies from the ride.

This past we found a decent bike for her to try and this morning we set out for her first ride.  I was still a little sore from the hectic pace from the LIVESTRONG Day 10/2/2010 ride out of Mellow Johnny’s, so Sunday’s easy pace was actually good for me as well.  Our ride was about 10 miles.  Along the way I coached her on gear selection and riding on the road with cars.  I was very careful to let her set the pace.  The day was about riding with her, not getting a workout for me.  I don’t know who was more excited about her getting out on the bike with me, but I realize I’m going to have to dial back my enthusiasm so she’s not overwhelmed.

I’m also going to have to do a better job making sure my wife dressed appropriately for the weather.  My wife gets cold more easily than me and she had some issues with her ears.  I wasn’t really thinking about that when we left, so I’ll have to get accustomed to packing a few extra items just in case.  I’m so proud of my wife and I’m really looking forward to our next ride.  Hopefully we’ll have another bike noob loving the bike real soon!

One response to “The maiden voyage

Leave a Reply

